39 weeks, 6 days

So I was always one of those kids that could not sleep a wink the night before my birthday. I’ve mostly grown out of it, but leading up to big events I always struggle to switch off my brain at night – and this is no exception. Right now, it’s 12.18am and after going to bed early, I’ve spent the last few hours lying in bed thinking about how much I really need to sleep now while I can, yet only becoming more and more awake! So I thought I’d get some thoughts out and see if that helps….

Part of me is struggling to come to terms with the fact that we are so close to 40 weeks. I can’t believe that we have really come this far. It seems like only yesterday we were dealing with the low betas, expecting the worst, searching for a midwife, debating which scans to have (ha! after trying to limit the number, we’ve ended up having 8!) and all the rest. I can’t believe that after all the years of trying, the heartache, the agony, the tears, the stress, we’re finally on the verge of meeting our little baby. We are really that lucky.

The other part of me is so excited and ready to meet Sprocket. I had a dream about the first day the other night, it wasn’t particularly exciting but I woke up with a smile on my face (and it was gender specific so I’m not sharing lol).

Tomorrow, well today really, we start with Mrs CMM’s acupressure protocol as well as using blue cohosh to try and start things up. The doctors would have us medically inducing at 40 weeks, so here’s hoping that the alternative therapies continue to serve us well. Of course both protocols have a three day cycle in the instructions so let’s not get too excited, it may be several days yet!

Some (vaguely) interesting things have happened in the past week, one of which is it turns out that one of my colleagues’ mother is the new nursing manager at the clinic. While we were chatting I found out that our old nemesis Nurse Bobble Head, who some of you may remember from our less than awesome adventures with the clinic, has pretty much lost her job and on longterm leave right now. There are very few people in this world who I genuinely dislike, but after the way she treated us throughout the whole process – especially when she stood in the waiting room back in August telling me very coldly that there was chance whatsoever that this pregnancy was viable and that it was cruel of me to let K hope for it – so it really couldn’t happen to a nicer person!

Oh and by the way, what K failed to mention in her last post about going for bike rides – which she’s still doing, she prefers it to walking – is as it’s too uncomfortable to sit down, she’s up on her pedals the whole time.. what a legend!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 39 weeks, 6 days

  1. poppycat says:

    Holy crap! I mean really, HOLY CRAP! Your baby will be here any day – literally. How exciting. I can’t wait to meet him/her.

Leave a Reply

