Is it bedtime yet?

I have a million and one things to blog about, truly I do, but every time I sit in front of this page my mind goes blank.

Things around here have been tough the last few weeks, we have both been very stressed at work and just plain exhausted. I cannot remember being so tired in a long, long time and I’m not even the pregnant one! Things have been snowballing a little (a lot?) and we are in dire need of a holiday. We have both taken today off to make it a long weekend which has been great but it is bittersweet as it’s just making me realise how much we need a proper one. If we can hang in there for another couple of weeks we’ll be alright, K finishes school for the year soon and I have a week off coming up in December, then another 10 days off over Christmas/New Year so the end is in sight.

We’ve been stressing a little bit about what we still need to do for Sprocket. Actually I’ve been pretending not to stress about this but honestly it has been mixed in there with everything else. We’ve got a number of things already sorted which is great, but Sprocket isn’t due until April we really need to get everything organised by the time K goes back to school in late January. While it seems like it’s been going fast already, it’s nothing to how quickly the third trimester will rip past – the first term is always horrific with camps, swimming and athletic sports to be organised so there won’t be much time left for anything else.

A few weeks ago we shifted the spare room into the office, the office then got moved into the lounge and part of our hallway. What was the spare room is to become the baby’s room, for now we have piles of stuff everywhere still but it is getting there. We had pretty much decided on the colour scheme we were going to use to re-paper the walls, replace the curtains etc but I think now we’ve turned that on it’s head and are going in a completely different direction. Suddenly the decisions over strollers, nappies, bassinets, names, nursery decorations aren’t just academic anymore. We’re on a timeframe now people, and there are so many decisions to be made!

Our MW comes along tomorrow so we’ve been trying to get our ‘homework’ finished as well. We have a few books and a couple of dvd’s she has left us to watch, as well as nettle tea (yuck) to try, an obstetrics consult to book (trying but the clinic only does them in packages of three and we only want one – awaiting phone call again!), and stress levels to drop (constantly working on this one but I think we’re getting there). I can’t believe it’s this week though already, we’ll be having out 20 wk scan next week!

It is still kind of surreal.  There is a definite hard spot on K’s belly showing where baby, she hasn’t felt it move again since the last midwife appointment but the bump moves around and across and up and down so it’s fun to play ‘where’s Sprocky today?’ – even if it is a somewhat limiting game. But it’s still hard to believe that there is really a baby in there. We have been spending a fair bit of time in baby shops, each time I go down the baby aisle I feel a curious mix of excitement, fear and that I’m an imposter. It’s hard to believe after all this time that we  are actually lucky enough to have a reason to be looking at these things.

I have a pile of things to blog about, I keep saying that but it’s true. I had great intentions of getting my ass back to regularly commenting on all of your blogs back in October but then November hit and.. well.. best laid plans and all. I’ve managed to get through about half of our blog roll but we have been reading along religiously even if we haven’t had the energy or time to comment.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it bedtime yet?

  1. Strawberry says:

    Wow, can’t believe you’re almost at the halfway point already! I remember having a big old ‘to-do’ list. Seems like it would never end, but when the baby came, we had it all done. I’m sure you’ll be fine. Glad to hear you all are doing well, if busy/tired 🙂

  2. poppycat says:

    20 weeks already? Wow! I’m so excited for your scan. Good luck getting the rest of the things in order and don’t worry too much, things will fall into place.

    I’m a bad commenter lately too. It’s hard to comment with one hand while feeding a baby at 3 in the morning!

Leave a Reply

