The not so magic number

Today’s beta was 44. That’s a doubling time of.. oh wait it’s nowhere near doubling.. up just 13 over four days.

We knew it wasn’t going to be good news when they took so long to call, well confirming our theory that they phone the good news first and then the bad news. In the end I rang our favourite nurse at 4pm because we couldn’t wait any longer.

They want K to keep going with the progesterone and come back for another blood test next week (but not til freaking Thursday!!), nurse said that it is obviously trying to do something so they want to give it every chance to succeed but it’s not a good result at all.

So here we are again..waiting some more.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The not so magic number

  1. Bree says:

    I’m sorry sweet girls. I’ve been there and know how tough beta hell can be, especially when they take so long to call you.

    I wish it were some crazy high number that would answer every question, but I think that makes sense to keep with the progesterone and retest.

    I’m thinking about you both and hoping that, together, you can get through the week in good spirits.

  2. Jen says:

    So sorry it isn’t the number you were hoping for.

  3. tbean says:

    Oh fuck. I’m really sorry. Thinking of you.

  4. andrea & liz says:

    sending tons of strength to get through this.

  5. strawberry says:

    So so sorry. There aren’t enough words for how utterly shitty that is.

  6. Olive says:

    No, no. I’m incredibly sorry and I wish with all my heart that things had gone differently.

  7. Next in Line says:

    Oh I was so hoping for a number so high that they would be thinking identical twins. Waiting, betas, taking fertility drugs is a rough ride. I am thinking of ya and hoping for a higher number on Thursday. That little bean has all of us cheering it on.

  8. poppycat says:

    Being in limbo is so hard. I’m sorry they can’t give you a firm answer and I’m so sad for you that the number wasn’t the magic we were all hoping for.

    Sending love, comfort and strength. xo

  9. A says:

    I am so sorry! It brings back the horrible memories of our chemical pregnancy. I wish there was something to say, but I know it just sucks!!

  10. Pomegranate says:

    I’m so sorry, sweetie. This month just bites.

    (hoping for the very best possible result for you guys)

  11. Mama bea says:

    Wow. What a roller coaster. I am hoping, hoping, hoping for good news and am thinking about you both.

Leave a Reply

