Where we’re at. Or not as the case may be.

  • We had our first 5/9 anniversary on 16 April but was too close to K’s operation to celebrate properly so we put it off til our second 5/9 anniversay on the 29th.
  • Turns out we were too tired then too lol but we did find some funky photo frames that are now holding some pretty wicked photos above the fireplace.
  • My brother’s girlfriend wanted to ring us on the 16th to say happy anniversary but he wouldn’t let her because he didn’t know if it was the ‘right one’. This is actually pretty cute because a) he’s male, and b) we don’t talk all that much so I was impressed that he had it written on his calendar, even clicked there were two and that one was more important to us!
  • I nearly started crying during farewell speeches for our HR rep who was going on maternity leave. Little did I know when I was asking for advice about taking last minute leave for the IVF without telling my brand new boss why, then pouring my heart out over the failure, that she had just found out she was pregnant. She was, and is, a lovely lady but this one just really hit home. Luckily I made it back to the peace of my office before the tears came.
  • Another brother of mine who lives in England has been visiting which has been great, and let to two very late Monday nights. I have seen him a total of 5 times since I was three so it was great.
  • K has taken on extra duties at work for this term. It means more work, more stress and did I mention more work? But it does mean more money and is a great opportunity for her to try this particular role without committing long term.
  • We have not eaten any red meat or pork for nearly 5 months. It has not been nearly as hard as we thought it would be, in fact it has been remarkably easy and we are both feeling better for it.
  • We are cutting out chicken and seafood as of Monday. Same deal as when we did the red meat – no pressure, no timeframes just see how it goes.
  • We are reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer which is helping already!
  • We got bumped up the waiting list for the free ivf cycle (conditional on bmi et al). It was April 2011 and is now March 2011 – woohoo. Yes that was a sarcastic woohoo but yes it is better than nothing, we are grateful really.
  • We are still undecided on the July vs October debate.
  • The report came from the surgeon of exactly what he did in the op. It used a lot of big words, and sounds really scary – thank goodness he didn’t hand that out with the photos.
  • As a spin off from spending more time with my brother (who lives in the same city but we hardly ever see), we scored ourselves a couple of his old couches which are a lot better than our old ones.
  • Zoom (cat) has tonight worked out she can scoot right underneath them and is pretty happy with herself. My cut up heels are not.
  • I went to work today with a fairly funky hairdo and for the first half of the day most of my (mostly very) conservative workmates couldn’t look me in the eye, they were all staring about 3 inches higher but not one said a word until about 4pm when I had a spate of complimentary emails lol
  • We have finally caught up on our month’s worth of recorded Ellen episodes. Now I just have 7 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy to watch. Sometimes recording tv is just downright stressful hehe.
  • I nearly wrote this whole blog without mentioning that it is now only 3 weeks until we go to Hawaii. Which conveniently distracts me from the fact that it is only 3 weeks until my 30th – not that I can ever complain about that, I’m the youngest out of both mine and K’s families after all.
  • K is on school camp again, luckily it’s beautiful weather right now, if a little cold, because there’s lots of outdoor adventures!
About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

