Our week in random thoughts

  • Still waiting for an answer, strangely not concerned.. it is what it is and although we’re demanding an apology, we’re no longer hanging on every phone call awaiting it. We feel safe with it in the hands of the director for now.
  • I have been sick, and in doing so missed quite the exciting day at work yesterday it seems including a bit of a punch up between two late 30s/early 40s female colleagues.
  • K has been a great nurse, even though she had to remind me that payback will be sought when she is pregnant. Ah yes that old chestnut – haven’t I already been practising for the past 2 years, dear?
  • Being the sharing, caring type I am I seem to have passed my bugs on to my wife, sadly for her I’m still not well myself so not quite up to the nurse routine yet – hopefully she gets off lightly though.
  • Our fur babies are impossibly cute. And naughty at the same time. Like yesterday when I woke up thinking one of the cats was on the bed with me (allowed). Opened my eyes and there was a very licky waggy puppy dog instead (very much not allowed). Right now I have the dog asleep on my feet, one cat on my chest and the other cat cuddled up to my side glaring at the other two. Difficult to type but I’m feeling the love. Only a little concerned with the waves off hostility coming off  The Grumpy One and the probability that my lap is about to become the stage for Death Duel ’09.
  • I have been to a chiropractor a couple of times, and so far so good. This bodes well for my fibromyalgic and slightly arthritic body. Not so much for my wallet but we’ll see. The number 1 goal is to reduce my migraines which he thinks he can do, but then again he’s hardly going to tell me he can’t do anything is he.
  • K has been back to brewing the ‘erbs. Even drinking them too, we’re actually not sure exactly what they are supposed to do this time but here’s hoping they do it.
  • The weight loss thing (TWLT) is going well still, K has lost 2.9kg so far (about 6 pounds for those imperial types). I’m not sure about myself, I’ve lost a fair bit but with being sick I’m sure some of it’s going straight back on.
  • My visit with my mother, brother and 2yo nephew went awesomely well last week, it was such a great, relaxed day. My bro’s girlfriend was there for most of the day from out of town which was cool, and K joined us after work for dinner. My nephew is such a cutie, he was obviously loving his holiday and especially the fact that there were horses in the paddock next door.
  • The evenings are starting to get longer and warmer, and hopefully we can soon start heading down to the river after work for a swim for Tai. She loves it and it relaxes us too – one of the best things about summer. And of course as soon as I mention summer, our blue sky morning has turned into a rainy, windy mess.
About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our week in random thoughts

  1. Olive says:

    I’m sorry you’re both sick – I hope you feel better! I’m so jealous of your longer days and warm temperatures! I realize we’ll get them back one day too, but it just seems impossibly cold and dark right now. Breathe in a little summer breeze for me!

  2. Next in line says:

    I love naughty and nice fur babies. I am jealous of your summer right now. We have rain and wind weather alerts and threats of flooding. Take care sickies! To bad you missed the punch out at work.

  3. thebao says:

    Oh no, I hope you both feel better soon. Being sick in the summer is less fun than at any other season, I think.
    Despite all the crap y’all have been through recently and despite being sick, you sound like you’re in a really good place. Congrats on the wonderful self-care and weight loss!

  4. GaybyRabies says:

    I love the new picture you have posted of the naughty puppy! Honestly, I would have a very hard time kicking something that cute off the bed. I’m a total pushover. I’m glad to hear you had a good time with your nephew, and that the days are getting longer and warmer there. It’s dark by 4:30 here 😦

Leave a Reply

