Stuck in the middle with you

Officially, we’re over halfway through the tww. But I have to say, this tww is like no other. I don’t know if it’s that we’re so tired of all of this or there’s so much else going on but we really are completly ignoring. For the first time I couldn’t tell you if K’s had any ‘symptoms’. The only time we’ve talked about it at all was the other night when I asked if we were still not talking about it. The answer was no which is more than fine by me.

I have my interview Monday. I am officially doing some interview prep now. Unofficially? I’m procrastinating and chatting/playing games on facebook.

The last couple of weeks at work the pressure and stress of all this restructuring had become unbearable. Culminating on Friday afternoon with the shocking news that my boss has lost her job. She was in the same situation as us – being given 4 weeks notice and having to reapply for a downsized version of her old job. Despite having been there for 19 years and getting stellar performance reviews constantly, she is gone. No word yet on who has got the role or if they’re going to look externally. Which naturally makes us more than a little wary of the new GM who’s doing the appointing. It’s so sad – she was more of a surrogate mother to half that organization than a boss, certainly a mum to our team. She was always supportive and happy for me to leave at 5 minutes notice for an insem no matter how busy/short staffed we were, and there are many times I have ended up in her office in tears the day after getting a BFN – she’s the type of person that all she has to do is look at you a certain way and you’re jelly. She will be sorely missed – a fact which they admitted on Friday they’d underestimated when they saw how upset everyone across the organization was at this decision.

So yeah, first thing tomorrow morning we have a meeting with the GM to discuss it. Then I have my interview later in the morning with same GM – not looking forward to that! I’m still confident I’ll have a job at the end of it, but not sure anymore if I’ll get the one I really want. It’s knocked us all for six – suddenly we don’t know what they’re wanting.

I am so over all this bs, the sooner it’s finished with the better. July 31st is the last day under the old structure so at least the end is in sight. It’s been a long haul – we’ve known redundancies have been coming for the last 6 months and it’s been so draining. Get it over with already.

And it’s the last day of school holidays for K – so she’s busy doing prep work and wishing there was more time for fun. Our animals are all sleeping thinking how boring we are lol

Running away to hide on a sunny beach in the middle of no where sounds good about now!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuck in the middle with you

  1. poppycat says:

    Let me pack my things and I’ll meet you on that beach in the middle of no where.

    Your work situation sounds absolutely frusterating and worrisom. I’m sad to hear you’ve lost such a wonderful member of your team and I hope you find your worries about your own job were unfounded. Wishing you the best as you interview and wishing you a BFP at the end of it all.

  2. queerstork says:

    It’s interesting that we’re experiencing the same kind of nonchalance about cycling now. Oh, yes, we’re in the TWW. Huh. I think that, for me, it’s easier to forget when it’s not my body so gone is the symptom-watch. It’s kind of a nice place to be to be so used to all of this that the TWWs go much faster.

    Wishing you the best at work. Keep us posted!

  3. thebao says:

    Ugh, I’m so sorry to hear about your boss. I hope you get to keep your job and that things settle down with the restructuring–it’s so hard not to know what’s going to happen. Best of luck waiting for the end of the TWW and to find out about work.

  4. strawberry says:

    So sorry about your boss. I know how difficult it can be when something major like that at work changes. I wish you tons of luck at the interview and a BFP to cap it all off!

Leave a Reply

