Every day is a winding road

I’ve been putting this off for a while, just haven’t really felt like I’ve had much to say lately. K asked me the other day why I hadn’t blogged and said she missed reading about what we’re up to (funny girl) so I decided that tonight while she’s at soccer practice I’ll make sure I write.

Except that while she’s been gone, the dog’s been barking like crazy, the grumpy cat’s been grumping around winding up the dog, I’ve spent far too much time on the phone with a friend from work that I sit next to for 8 hours a day anyway and now K will be home soon so I need to cook some dinner. But for now I’ve started this post, and I’ll be back soon to finish it!

Ok, so really there hasn’t been a whole lot going on lately. I think we’re in a bit of a rut. Nothing major, just in general. K has been on all of her camps now, we’ve both had colds, the weather’s fast turning to winter – cold and wet. My work has confirmed in the last few weeks that there will be a major restructure, which means job cuts, but we won’t know the details for a few weeks. I still think I’ll be ok but you just don’t know. K’s work has been as full on as always – and there was supposed to be a holiday somewhere in the last few weeks??

While K was at her last camp I thought I solved all our problems by finding us both jobs to apply for in a new town by the beach. Sadly I miscalculated K’s income and what I thought would be a 5k pay cut was more like 20k between us lol nevermind, it was nice while the fantasy lasted!!

K’s mum has her big operation at the end of next week (blogged about her having it a while back but it got pushed back because she was sick and they wouldn’t risk the anaesthetic) so hopefully that goes well.  It’s also a long weekend that same weekend with a holiday on the following Monday which will be great and we’re both taking the Tuesday off work too for my birthday so very much looking forward to a long weekend together relaxing!

We’ve been trying to do some serious cleaning (out?) around the house too (pre-nesting I think). We gave ourselves 2 weekends to do the house and the garage but after last weekend we only got through one room then K had soccer on Sunday and I slept through the day with a migraine. The one room is scrubbed top to bottom though! We will get there with the rest of it.

I have also just realised that for the first time in like 2 years I don’t instantly know where K’s cycle is at. Weird feeling – I really had to think about that for a while. But CD1 should be the end of next week which means the oh so fantastic clomid will start, and then it’s all downhill from there! Hopefully.

We thought we got over all the superstitions etc a while back, but K read somewhere that growing parsley is supposed to be good for fertility, so we now have some merrily growing in a pot outside. Plus we use it for cooking anyway lol. I also have made my work password ‘juneforkel’ after having had a similar password for april for someone else. That someone got pregnant that month so I’m thinking the extra positive vibes that will head out into the universe every dozen or so times I have to use my password a day can’t hurt.

For a blog that’s about nothing, this sure ended up long. I’m off now to deliver the laptop to my wife in bed so she can read this oh so riveting post, and then finish fixing her ‘erbs so I can join her.

G’night!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every day is a winding road

  1. Strawberry says:

    Glad to hear an update from you. Oh, and I love parsley 🙂

  2. Geek says:

    Funny how much can actually happen when you’re doing ‘nothing much.’
    Sometimes life just gets in the way of the exciting stuff.

Leave a Reply

