Happy Anniversary Baby!

♥ What are your middle names?
Tui – Caroline, K – Jan.

♥ How long have you been together?
Nearly 8 years.

♥ How long did you know each other before you started dating?
Ummm… about 2 months but it seemed like a lot longer than that at the time.

♥ Who asked who out?
Ummm… well… it wasn’t so much a matter of one asking the other out as a profession of love. And K went first. Bravely as it turned out 🙂

♥ How old are each of you?
Tui – 28, K – 32.

♥ Whose siblings do/ did you see the most?
K’s two sisters. I have only brothers and its a different vibe.

♥ Do you have any children together?
Nope.

♥ What about pets?
2 cats – Zoom and Neko; and 1 dog – Tai.

♥ Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Baby one.

♥ Did you go to the same school?
Nope.

♥ Are you from the same home town?
Nope.

♥ Who is smarter?
Actually I would say about the same, but usually in different fields.

Who is more sensitive?
Me!

♥ Where do you eat out most as a couple?
Mostly would be the indian place at the nearest mall.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
UK/Europe.

Who has the craziest exes?
K lol.

♥ Who has the worse temper?
I think I have the most mood swings but K holds hers the longest.

Who does the cooking?
We share. Tui probably does more towards the end of the school term and then K does more in the holidays.

Who is more social?
I would say K. But we can be equally social and also equally anti-social at times.

Who is the neat-freak?
K. But I am coming along.

Who is more stubborn?
K.

Who hogs the bed?
Zoom (our cat). We can share too if we’re lucky.

Who wakes up earlier?
Probably K but we’re usually both forced by the alarm!

Where was your first date?
Our first date would be the first time we met in person (we met online). We went to the movies to see The Mexican but it was sold out so we saw Bounce instead. Our first real dating date would probably be the first time K came with me and my friends to the gay club in the town I was living in.

Who has the bigger family?
Fairly similar actually – K has 2 sisters and 6 nieces/nephews and I have 3 brothers and 7 nieces/nephews. Mine are never all together though.

Do you get flowers often?
Often enough to feel loved and far enough apart to feel special.

How do you spend the holidays?
Alternate years with each family.

How long did it take to get serious?

This is a hard one. In retrospect it was serious right from the start but it took a while to get that. When we did decide we both wanted it, we knew it was for good.

Who eats more?
Depends whats on the table.

Who does/ did the laundry?
K.

Who’s better with the computer?
We both are – different skills.

Who drives when you are together?
K. Mostly based on the fact that I didn’t get my full licence until a year ago and she still freaks out when I drive. Haha nah it’s not that bad, mostly out of habit I think.

This meme seemed like a good way to start this special anniversary post. I’m posting it a little early because we’re off on a little holiday to celebrate.

This Thursday marks the day that we first met 8 years ago online at gaydotcom (or as I like to refer to it now – the dodgy chatroom :)), and also the day 4 years ago that we had our wedding.

Sometimes it feels like we’ve been in each other’s lives a lot longer than that, and sometimes it seems like nothing but I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like without you in my life K.

I can still remember so vividly walking around uni and storing up little tidbits of info and things that I’d seen so that I could email them to you – share my day with you even though we lived in different towns.

I can still remember how nervous I felt, waiting for you to drive an hour to come and see me – just hang out and watch tv for a couple of hours before driving back again to go to work the next day.

I can remember how loved I felt when you sent me the most beautiful table arrangement for my 21st birthday. How the flowers stayed on the table all weekend so it felt like you were kinda there. And how much I blushed when my family kept commenting on how beautiful they were (they really should have guessed lol).

I can still remember the happiness I felt when you and BD met for the first time. I remember laughing my ass off because you gave each other a big hug and then both freaked out a little afterwards about it to me. I guess that was the start of our family in a way?

I can remember how much it hurt when you hurt. How much I wanted to change that, make everything better for you. For always. How  surprised I was to realise that. And how hard it was to tell you.

I can remember how it felt the first time we hugged. Cheesy as anything, but it felt like coming home. Like everything that had been wrong in my life would be fixed, if only we held on to each other.

And all of this when we were still ‘just friends’. Who was I kidding?

And now, now I can’t imagine being able to go through all of this with anyone else. I can’t even imagine wanting to.

I love you so much and I am so continually grateful and amazed at what you’re willing to do to make our dream come true. 

Thank you.

Happy Anniversary Baby.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Anniversary Baby!

  1. Heidi says:

    Happy Anniversary!!

  2. Jen says:

    Yay! Happy Anniversary.

  3. A says:

    What a beautiful post. Happy Anniversary!

  4. strawberry says:

    Happy Anniversary! (we met online, too)

  5. Happy Anniversary!! Your post was so beautiful 🙂 Hope you have a great Anniversary getaway!

  6. Geek says:

    Hey wow! My partner and I have our anniversary around the same time, we had a commitment ceremony on the 14th of April 2007, and just recently came over to NZ for our (belated) honeymoon and decided to have a Civil Union just to legalise it all somewhere. Seems like a good time of the year!

Leave a Reply

