Camps, Sting Rays and Surprises

I woke up this morning with a horrible migraine, thankfully I have great drugs and now I’m feeling a lot better. So instead of being at work I’m at home on the couch reading  Eat, Pray, Love and dreaming of real Italian pizza. The dog is making the most of the beautiful weather and sunbathing on the grass. The cats are sticking close by me – they know K left for camp this morning and are never happy when one of us is away. Zoom in particular absolutely hates when the suitcase comes out and does everything she can to burrow under the clothes and try to pack herself.

We had a pretty great weekend, K had a special surprise waiting for her on Sunday, so instead of spending Sunday getting ready for camp (which usually involves food shopping, baking, packing, preparing lessons for her classes left behind at school), we tried to do most of that on Saturday.

Then on Sunday we headed up to Auckland for K’s surprise. She’s been trying to guess for weeks what we’d be doing and it was driving her nuts not knowing – she thinks that she can guess any surprise at all but had no idea about this one. You see, her best friend and her husband are visiting from London and had decided to surprise her. It was a brilliant surprise and she just sat there for the first 20 minutes with a stupid grin on her face – I think she’s still in shock! She kept saying last night ‘I can’t believe I saw J today’ lol. She said it did cross her mind that we were meeting some other friends of ours but she never even remotely considered it could be J and S.

They are also the only people we know IRL who know about this blog  (hi!) so we both thought it was a little weird but really great talking to people that really get what we’re talking about. We have no intention whatsoever of getting anyone else to read along because it is the one place where we write and talk about everything but I have to admit it was nice to talk to someone close to us who got that. And S did a great job for a guy trapped in a car with 3 women who were trying to talk subtly about cycles lol.

We spent the afternoon with them and their family at Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter and Underwater World which is a kickass place that you have to visit if you’re ever in Auckland! My favourite parts are seeing the penguins up close and from underwater diving and swimming, then seeing a huge sting ray being fed a fish directly above our heads. You walk through a tunnel which is under the giant aquarium so you have rays, sharks and dozens of other species swimming along beside  and above you. There is 7 cm thick perpex between you and them so you get pretty close! The also have regular aquariums that have piranhas, giant crayfish, puffer fish and seahorses among other things. I love it there and we had such a cool time .

Speaking of cycles, it is CD3 today and things are a lot better this time round which is a good sign. I think I said last post that we are definitely breaking until May though. Which actually feels like a relief in a way, there is so much happening at the moment and we’re so busy trying to fit everything into the upcoming holidays that despite how much we want to be pregnant NOW, it would have been too much stress fitting it all in. And with how quickly times being going, it won’t be long until May comes along too. If I’m brutally honest I’ll also say that it’s a bit scary now that we have a timeline on the number of IUIs we can/will do. We only have 3 left and while Mr Chinese Medicine Man is saying it won’t work yet it seems like a scary waste of one to try. 3 more and then IVF. Which if we get to that point probably won’t be able to happen straight away due to financial reasons. So only 3 more tries is scary.

We’re signing up for a beginner’s yoga course in the new term, it also teaches other stress management and relaxation techniques so that should be good for both of us. K has been quite stressed lately with work but I have to say that from an outside perspective she hasn’t been nearly as bad as in previous years so the ‘erbs and the acupuncture are definitely a great help.

So I have three more days of being by myself then K is home on Thursday night. I don’t mind being at home by myself in a safety sense, nor do I get lonely with my own company but I do miss K very much. She’s away for camp for 3 weeks out of the next 6 which is a lot for us, and I’m glad we have time off together next week to make the most of. I was planning to use this time to catch up with friends I don’t see often but really now I’m just feeling lazy and want to lie around reading books and watching movies lol.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Camps, Sting Rays and Surprises

  1. Travelher says:

    You saw a pufferfish and thought of me?! That is so sweet! I saw some baby pufferfish while I was diving in Thailand and thought “those are my babies!!”
    I’m sorry to hear you have a migraine. I had one on Friday, so I know what you are going through. It’s a good day to be alone so no one can make any noise….
    It sounds like the cycles are going much better and that’s great. But, I don’t think just because Mr. CMM says it won’t work means 100% because really, no one ever knows.
    Yoga! Yeah for yoga! I love it and I hope you do too.

  2. A. says:

    I’m glad that you made it through the migraine! And your trip to the underwater adventure place sounds really cool! I love aquariums and the like.

    Enjoy your quiet week, and also the yoga! It’s the best!

  3. Jen says:

    That sounds like a lovely surprise! Enjoy the break and the yoga.

  4. strawberry says:

    Yay for time off together next week! And I hope the threat of IVF is enough to make your body cooperate. I’ve definitely seen BFP’s happen for people on their last shot (although the first of those last 3 would be great I’m sure)

  5. S. says:

    what a fun surprise you planned for k!

    hope you enjoy these days of quiet. if it were me, i’d be reading and watching tv too, i love the opportunity to be a hermit! 🙂

  6. poppycat says:

    How fun! Sounds like you two have a ton going on right now and I’m glad you get a little time to relax and be lazy if you wish.

    I hope one of these next three is your bfp and thank god IVF is an option just in case. It’s gonna work out, it is.

  7. Bobbie says:

    I just found your blog and it so tells the story of my partners and my struggle to conceive. Don’t give up, even when someone says you only get 1 more shot. We tried for 3 years to get pregnant and just found out we finally are. We did IUI for 2 1/2 years and finally decided to just do it at home and with the use of a great fertility monitor we were able to conceive.

Leave a Reply

