If It’s Meant To Be And Other Platitudes…

This last week has been exhausting. For K it was her first week back at school. She’s been running a peer support programme so has been busybusy with that, plus planning camps and both athletics and swimming sports in the next couple of weeks. It always seems like the summer holidays go so quickly these days – man it used to seem like months when we were kids!

For me, the week started with some work worries – an all staff meeting on Monday but thankfully no job losses. Yet. They are looking at cutting hours though which sucks but we’ll see what happens. My department is pretty well over staffed at the moment so yeah. Then I’ve had 2 migraines this week, it has just been so damn hot here the last week or so it’s been crazy. And it’s supposed to be hotter today! We did get up early to take Tai for a long walk and swim in the river but we were still sweating on the way home.

We’ve had a long weekend this weekend with Friday being Waitangi Day so that’s been great. That’s the last of the long weekends for a while though sadly – getting used to this 4 day work week lol. We were excited because Milk is finally being released in NZ this weekend, but sadly not in our city yet. We did however catch half of For The Bible Tells Me So on TV last night – now we have to work out when it’s on again to catch the first half!

There’s been pregnancies popping up as usual all over the place but I have to say I was shocked at one of my ex-colleagues announcing her pregnancy on facebook. Well I wasn’t shocked so much at that as when she started chatting to me and telling me she was four weeks pregnant (and confident enough to tell the whole world via status updates), tried for the first time in January and then proceeded to ‘comfort’ me with the great words of wisdom that only super fertile heteros can pull off! Grrrrrr…..

We’re now CD1. Which means we have to make a decision about this month sometime in the next 48 hours. We’re still going back and forth a bit but I think we’re leaning towards trying this month.

Mr Chinese Medicine Man had given us the ok for this cycle so long as K didn’t have much pre-menstrual pain. Well she didn’t so we have his ok but there’s still a few things on our minds. Mostly just the stress of the first term for K and the sheer amount of physical work she has ahead of her the next couple of months that would definitely be easier without worrying about a possible baby. But that said, if we wait until April it will be 5 months so that just seems like an enormous break.

So we’re thinking that we’ll try this month and see what happens. If it fails then K can do her thing with no worries, and if it works well….. we won’t know if we don’t try.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If It’s Meant To Be And Other Platitudes…

  1. ciaochow says:

    Though my opinion should have no bearing on your actions, I hope and think that you should try this month!

  2. Next in Line says:

    Who I am to say, but I am with Ciachow, go for it! The worst that can happen is K gets pregnant and has to reduce activities. How great would that be and 100% worth it.

  3. S. says:

    i third the motion to try this month!!! 😉

    boy, i really hate those “words of wisdom” from uber-fertile heteros. makes me feel violent.

    good luck with this upcoming decision!

  4. Jen says:

    I ring in with everyone else…try this cycle and we will be TWW buddies…we are right on track with each other! I go in tomorrow morning for my CD3 work up! Join me….

  5. strawberry says:

    I hope you try this month!

    And 4 weeks and telling people on Facebook? Geez…people are nuts.

  6. I vote for TRY!

    But then again, I don’t actually get a vote in this, so instead I’ll go with…

    Good luck, whatever you two decide!

Leave a Reply

