Da Lingo

I talk about ttc a bit with a few of my friends at work who are both curious and supportive.  Only a little though, most of the good stuff I save for blogging.

So the other day I was re-reading ‘confessions of the other mother’ in a corner at work and one my workmates came up and asked me what I was reading. I showed her and she kind of gave me a confused look and asked what other mother meant. Without giving it much thought I just said ‘you know – like me.’ She was still confused so I followed up with ‘well K will be the bio mum and I’m the non-bio’. She was even more confused and I suddenly realised that I’ve become so familiar with all these terms and acronyms that really the majority of the world knows nothing about. To make it even worse, work interrupted and I never got to explain it to her properly lol.

We’re still not sure if we’re going ahead with February’s cycle or not, K still has to see what Mr Chinese Medicine Man thinks about it, but I have to say I’m getting excited about the possibility of trying again.

This break has been a very good thing, and has given K a chance to have a real holiday from both school work and ttc work which has been great. In a way it would be good to wait until April to try again, that would give K a lot of freedom over the next couple of months to rough and tumble it on her school camps, and we’d be that much further down the healthy lifestyle road.

On the other hand, it seems like so much longer to wait! We’ve already decided that if we do try in Feb, and it’s not a BFP, we won’t try again until April.

CD1 should be in about a week or so, so we have a bit more time to decide.

Thanks for the comments on my last post – I’m tracking more out of interest than to use for real cos the clinic will take care of that when it comes to it. Well technically tracking – I still haven’t actually got in the habit of it but that’s ok.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Da Lingo

  1. S. says:

    ah…conversations with straight, clueless coworkers! those can be so entertaining!!

    hope Mr. CMM gives you the green light to get started again as soon as you’d like.

  2. strawberry says:

    Well I hope your clueless coworker took some time (or internet research) to figure it out. Ain’t THAT hard.

    Glad you enjoyed the break and I hope you get to try in Feb.

  3. A says:

    It’s hard to talk to people who are not in this world. First, not TTC and not a lesbian. That just makes it so hard. I find it frustrating even talking to my best friend because she doesn’t understand a thing I say and I have to answer so many questions that it takes away from the story I’m trying to tell her.

    Good luck if you decide to try. I’ll be thinking about you two.

  4. I totally forget that the unintiated don’t understand what bio and non-bio refers to. One time, I even whipped out “non-gestational parent” (a phrase from Lyn that strikes me as a little gentler on us non-bios)… and got the blankest stare.

    So so glad that we have this community in which everyone gets it.

    And good luck as you decide to cycle or continue the break. You’ll make a great choice either way!

  5. Jen says:

    I have “educated” so many midwestern-clueless people about this process…it can be exhausting. That is another reason why our bloggland community is supportive. Bring on the phrases and random letters!

  6. M says:

    I just like to think of those moments as my personal opportunity to re-educate people to think about things a little bit more like me. 😉

    My workplace was a bit like that too – and we confused them even more when we finally used my eggs to get my partner pregnant – so now they have to contend with:-
    bio mummy/egg mummy
    gestational mummy/tummy mummy
    known donor/donor daddy

    Still, they got on board very quickly!

    Good Luck girls.

  7. poppycat says:

    Oh da lingo in the non ttc world does cause a scooby doo face for many a hettie. Whatever your decision, I hope you enjoy is to it’s fullest. Good luck if you try this time!

Leave a Reply

