How to guide for ‘erbs. Or how to guide for rambling.

I have learnt to be a master ‘erb cooker. We both have, but the smell of them cooking makes K sick so it’s mostly my job. The ‘erbs themselves are a collection of what looks like rocks, twigs, berries and other various dried items. K is given about 4-6 packages at a time, and there have been a couple of different ‘recipes’ over the past few weeks. These may look similar, but the smell is slightly different each time. Although there doesn’t appear to be anything recognisable in them, I keep finding myself playing ‘guess that smell’. Tonight for instance there is something so familiar about it but I can’t for the life of me think what it is.

Anyway, the cooking of the ‘erbs involves soaking them for 1 hour in 2.4l of water, bringing them to the boil and then turning down the heat and simmering until there is 800ml left in the saucepan. It has become quite the art in our household to balance temperature and time to get the right amount of liquid left over. See, there is still a huge amount of rocks etc left in the saucepan so you have to strain off the liquid to measure it. If it’s too much, then it all goes back in the pot for another 5-10 minutes.

K has to drink 200ml of the ‘erbs twice a day – once right before breakfast and once right before dinner. The ‘erbs are made up one package at a time to make sure they’re fresh so pretty much every couple of days our kitchen stinks lol.

I’m rambling here, this wasn’t at all what I wanted to blog about. For some reason, when we’re on a break I am constantly thinking of topics that I really want to blog about. Things that get pushed aside in the rush and excitement of tww and the disappointment of bfns. I actually plan these blogs in my head as I go about my day.  But once I sit down to write them, they float around the edge of my consciousness, not allowing me to really write them the way I’d like. Or the way I do during the day in my head.

For the record, the blogs I’ve written in my head this week are about family, ivf, bio/nonbio mother thoughts… I’m sure there’s at least one more I’m forgetting.

But it’s late, K’s already in bed, the ‘erbs have finished cooking and my eyelids are drooping.

So instead you get a rambling post about nothing. Except cooking ‘erbs. Which you probably didn’t care to know anyway. Am I really wasting my 100th post on this? lol looks like I am…

Goodnight!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How to guide for ‘erbs. Or how to guide for rambling.

  1. Heidi says:

    That is so sweet of you to brew them!!

    Happy 100th post!! I think it is a very good post to be honest. I think sometimes the ones that are just honest and simple can sometimes tell us the most about the writer 🙂

  2. nutella says:

    Happy 100th post!

    I’m quite intrigued by the ‘erb brewing. I feel certain I’d be tempted to cackle madly while reciting the opening lines of Macbeth as I brewed them.

  3. Jen says:

    I am confused about these ‘erbs you are talking about…sounds interesting though!

  4. Tui says:

    Jen the ‘erbs are herbs that the Chinese medicine man has given K originally to try and ‘warm her uterus’ which would help her get pregnant, but then he picked up on a few other problems she’s been having healthwise so he’s giving her herbs to fix those too. Let me know if you’ve got any other questions!

  5. YAY for the 100th post! We found this blog interesting as we didn’t venture down the herbal medicine path this go round. We can’t believe how much effort has to go into each cup! What time do you have to wake up in the morning to make the “before breakfast” serving?!?

    With all this extra effort, we know it will pay off!! Will you girls be trying again in February?

    • keeshay says:

      Wifey makes my herbs for me about once every two days and then they go in the fridge – one batch makes 800ml and I take 200ml at once. So no getting up early! Thank god or we’d be screwed … I am getting used to them now but I still hold my nose while I drink and shove something in my mouth e.g biscuit or banana while I still hold my nose and chew like a mad thing so that when I let my nose go I cant taste it … as bad … he he … could be much worse! And its definately working my period this month was so different to my normal ones. We are not sure if we are going to try in February, I will talk to my chinese medicine man when it rolls around. I think my biggest challenge is going to be keeping in the zen like state I am now when I go back to work, which is MAD especially in term one which is the busiest time of year for me – all my camps and school sports days that I organise fall mostly in these first ten weeks of the school year. So we will wait and see! We are happy however it turns out.

Leave a Reply

