Bits and bobs

I’ve been trying to use bloglines for the last couple of weeks, but I’ve just realised that I’ve missed several posts from certain blogs – not sure whats up with that. Also, it’s made me a very bad commenter – I tend to read all the updates with great intentions of linking to the blogs and commenting but I’ve ended up running out of time to comment.

Nevermind. Think I’ll stick with my usual methods!

I’ve survived my first week back at work after the holidays but only barely – boredom very nearly won! Everyone will be back from holidays this week though so we’re about to be very busy – at least it will make the time go faster.

We’re on CD1 now, but after all the hassle of getting the clinic to ‘let’ us do an insem in January, we’ve decided to definitely skip this month. K’s been seeing Mr Chinese Medicine Man and duly chugging back the ‘erbs (seriously – she’s got this whole pinched nose/swallow the whole glass in one breath/quickly eat something to get rid of the taste thing going on – but it’s making them bearable lol)

He’s quite happy with her progress, as is she, and so far her pms symptoms aren’t nearly as bad so they definitely seem to be doing their job. The tricky thing right now is she’s supposed to avoid cold drinks and foods during her period – which in the middle of summer (and damn it’s been hot lately) is just not fair!

Although we could have gone ahead this month, we’ve decided definitely just to chill out and wait til we get the go ahead from him before we try again. At the moment it looks like it might be February, but then again we’ve been talking about waiting a couple more months so that K can get through the first school term and all her camps, athletics and swimming sports etc that she organises without having to worry about anything else.

We’ll see what happens but at the moment we’re just going with the flow and it actually feels good. Generally I hate breaks. Especially ones with no definite end date. But it feels like we’re making good progress health wise for both of us which has got to be good. Besides if the next few months goes as quickly as the last few we’ll be there in no time!

We’ve been cleaning up the house a bit over the past couple of weeks – decluttering and destressing. As well as that we’ve been planning some fun outdoorsy things to do together – we’re entering a duathlon as a team in February, and keen to go kayaking sometime this summer if we can fit it in.

Of course the sorting out included the big folder of clinic stuff – we’ve got so many consent forms, blood test forms, sorry-you’re-not-pregnant-yet letters and then of course the invoices and receipts. Out of interest I added up what we’ve paid the clinic since we first saw them in February 07, and it wasn’t nearly as much as we both thought. $5945 for all of our tests, counselling, consultations and of course insems and $1359.80 for BD’s tests, counselling etc which gives us a total of $7304.80 – for some reason we both thought it was well over $10k already.

This week we’ve got K’s parents coming to stay, then I’m taking Friday off so we can go up to Auckland and take 5 of her nieces and nephews to the movies to see Madagascar 2.  Last week I went for my first run in 10 years, this week I’m aiming for my second!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bits and bobs

  1. Kathryn says:

    It sounds as though you two are getting all of your cards in order, so to speak. I just cleaned my entire house, top to bottom as well. It is such a wonderful destressing technique!

    I’m a bit afraid to total our medical expenses for the IUIs, kudos to you!

  2. strawberry says:

    Progress is good even if the break sucks. I’m sorry all that money didn’t give you a baby yet- the cost of things is just outrageous. I hope it doesn’t take much longer once you give it a go again. Enjoy your summer (damn that sounds nice right about now, *shiver*)

Leave a Reply

