Goodbye 2008!

I don’t know what’s up with the weather here, it was wet and miserable yesterday and today is the most beautiful clear blue skies – then it’s meant to rain again tonight! We made the most of it though by getting up early and driving to the beach with the dog. She had a great time playing in the waves and digging big holes – I swear she is part seal. We took some video of her swimming at the river the other day which I’ll post sometime soon. She drank a bit much salt water though so wasn’t feeling the best on the windy road home.

K had her neck scan yesterday, the tech said her arteries are all clear which is awesome news. So now it’s just one more test and time to let the ‘erbs and acupuncture do their thing and we’ll be back into it. We haven’t decided on January’s cycle yet but I think we’re leaning toward a complete break for now.

I can’t believe that it’s the end of the year already – I’m pretty sure I said that last year too but seriously, I can’t believe how much we’ve done this year and yet how little at the same time.

This time last year we were down in Wellington and went out to the clubs with some friends – including BD, our donor. It was great to see them but it also seemed.. poignant.. to ring in the New Year with him being that we were so convinced that we would be getting pregnant in 2008.

Tonight we’re just having a quiet night at home with our fur babies, pasta and dvds. One of our cats got in a fight so he’s been at the vet since yesterday. We’ll pick him up soon and try to keep him quiet – ha! Our neighbours (or at least their teenage son who we think is home alone) seem to be gearing up for a party at their place, lawn furniture has appeared out the front as have several visitors, so maybe it won’t be as quiet as we hope!

So goodbye 2008, it’s been great, we had some laughs and more than a few tears but really I’m glad to see the back of you.

Bring on 2009. I’m not naive enough to say we’ll definitely be pregnant in 2009, but seriously I’m not gonna be impressed if we’re not!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye 2008!

  1. ciaochow says:

    Oh, I cringe at the thought of having a quiet night ruined when I see a party gearing up at the neighbour’s place. Luckily I don’t have to worry about this in December – no one is throwing a party outside in two feet of snow!

    I’m glad to see the end of 2008. 2009 will be a good year. Believe!

  2. A says:

    I’m glad the test came back with good news. I hope 2009 brings you a BFP!!

  3. Your last statement,

    “… seriously I’m not going to be impressed if we’re not!”

    sums up everything that’s run through my head lately.

    For what it’s worth, I have a pretty strong feeling that the two of you WILL celebrate next New Year with a new person en-route.

    Happy New Year!

  4. poppycat says:

    What you said about how much and yet how little has happend this year really hits home for me. I think 2009 is going to be THE year for you and hopefully for the rest of us as well.

    I wish I could come hang out in the summer sun with you. Enjoy and have a very happy new year ladies.

  5. strawberry says:

    2009 better be the year of even more BFPs, yours included!

Leave a Reply

