It’s starting to feel a lot like Christmas!

It’s been sneaking up for a while now, with the decorations in shops in OCTOBER, to the first time I heard Snoopy’s Christmas on the radio about 3 weeks ago, to the inaugural CC household tradition of decorating the Christmas tree on December 1st.

There’s been a few bumps along the way; sickness, injury, money/present worries, the tree lights blowing out… but now, today it finally feels like Christmas is coming.

Yesterday I heard my 2 favourite Christmas songs on the radio – Snoopy’s Christmas and Fairy Tale of New York by The Pogues. I also was told Merry Christmas for the first time this year by a customer.

So this morning I made sure I picked out a Christmas CD for the car and happily sang my way to work. I love this time of year, it’s always been my favourite.

Christmas in the southern hemisphere also means the end of the school year and the start of summer holidays. Leading up to Christmas, the weathers getting finer, a lot warmer and the days are getting longer. It’s a time for relaxation, summer evenings and barbecues. There’s also a lot of birthdays in both of our families at this time of year so between those and the normal end of year/Christmas parties it’s usually busybusy!

Of course when I was a kid it was just as exciting to be at the end of the school year – lots of fun times and out of school trips, class plays, carol services. And then the promise of 6 weeks summer holidays after all that! Now I’m older, I’m lucky to have a job where I get at least between Christmas and New Year off work as our office shuts down. But with K being a teacher, we’re still all about end of school year in our house. This last term is always a stressful one with her, especially getting the seniors ready for their exams and running camps etc, but it’s also fun to watch K start to relax and get silly again. Gradually the year winds down and although she has plenty of work to do and end of year reports as she’s a head of department, the end is definitely in sight.

Growing up I was lucky to have 3 much older brothers, one of which who did everything he could to keep the magic of Christmas alive for me as long as possible. This included one year when I was 7 when he covered the entire lounge floor with balloons and lollies, and arranged some hay outside our front door. Imagine my excitement when I walked into the room to open my stocking – especially when he carefully explained that this was the house that Santa chose to feed his reindeer that year which was why there were so many balloons etc – Santa was saying thank you to us for letting him use our house.

I can’t wait to be able to do this sort of thing with our kids. Last Christmas we were excited and hopeful for this year. We were sure we would be pregnant by now at least, and really hopeful that we would have a wee one running around (well not running around of course, more like sitting and crying haha). Sadly, that wasn’t meant to be but we have to keep reminding ourselves that it will happen. We don’t know when, we have some decisions to make as to how in the new year, but we already have so much love for our child that it just has to work out. It has to.

Of course, it would be fantastic and a little bit ironic if, while writing this, K is in fact pregnant. We still have some hope for this cycle, but yesterday a few cramps were appearing so the hope is slowly being replaced by the inevitable disappointment and defeat.

But it ain’t over til it’s over. Watch this space.

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s starting to feel a lot like Christmas!

  1. you’re right…it’s not over til it’s over.
    i’m crossing everything for you guys.

    xo

  2. strawberry says:

    Waiting with bated breath….

  3. You never know, though! Thinking of you.

  4. ciaochow says:

    “Christmas in the southern hemisphere also means the end of the school year and the start of summer holidays.” I know this is the case but it’s hard to wrap my head around you gearing up for summer when we just had 25 cm of snow dumped on us overnight! Ha!

    We definitely thought I’d be pregnant by now too. It’s sad. I hope this is the cycle for you. I mean, you know what they say about PMS symptoms and pregnancy symptoms being identical!

    I’ll definitely be watching this space.

  5. Bree says:

    I’m right in the midst of learning that pregnancy symptoms can mimic PMS pretty effectively. (Even though I don’t think this one is a ‘keeper’ due to low hcg, the symptom watch has nonetheless been fascinating.)

    I hope that K is indeed pregnant. What a wonderful way to begin your summer break! Will be checking in frequently, watching for great news.

  6. Travelher says:

    Christmas in the Southern Hemisphere sounds lovely! Nice and warm and outdoor activities. I’d love that.
    We also thought we’d ‘at least’ be pregnant by this Christmas. But as you say–it has to happen. And it will.
    I’ll keep watching this space, because we all know it’s not over yet.

  7. poppycat says:

    I am a little behind in my reading and trying to catch up now. I always have a hard time thinking about Christmas in the summer but it sounds like so much fun! Glad this time of year is so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

