Chasing the zen

First I’ll back track and say that once again, we had a delightfully uneventful IUI. It was with a brand new nurse (to us) nurse this time, and as soon as she took us through the anxiety levels started to increase. She was very nice and friendly, but that didn’t help because they’ve all been like that to start with.

She started to get everything set up, and showed us the sperm stats (they used 2 straws this time, 4.7 million count and 56% motility – not awesome by any means but enough to get the job done). Despite our fave nurse having put a big warning on our file to use the sidney ivf catheter all the time, she started to open the normal one that always causes troubles. To her credit though, as soon as I said that we were supposed to have the sidney, she stopped what she was doing and got one – talking all the way and never once questioning or acting like it was an imposition.

The IUI itself was very quick and practically painless – she then told us that she’s the nurse that’s been the longest so now we have 2 nurses that we’re happy and comfortable with.

We’re now 7 days through the tww, and to be honest I don’t think we’ve had much time to think about it. K is away right now on a school camp, due back tomorrow, but she did text to say she had some cramping this morning. Of course, this has been happening each month so its promising but hard to know how much stock to put in it.

I’ve also been off work for the last couple of days, thanks to a $2000 grant from my fantastic employer that I will completely and utterly over simplify and downplay by saying it’s teaching me to ‘be the zen’. Zen of course being my favourite catch phrase for what I aim for particularly in the tww and after bfns. And it’s working. I feel like I’m getting my life back after 10 years, and I can’t wait to see what it means for the rest of my life.

Today I also got to visit my sister in law and 4 nieces and nephews who I haven’t seen in about a year which was fantastic. Except that my 14 year old nephew is now much taller than me – I picked him up while he was walking home from school and I didn’t even recognise him! I also can’t believe that my oldest niece is now 18 and has just finished school – I was only 10 when she was born and we’re closer in age that I am to my brother, but I still can’t believe she’s now legally an adult!

I can’t wait for K to come back tomorrow, we haven’t been able to talk this time, just text and I miss her very much. Sadly tomorrow night I think we’re both going in different directions too, me with my work christmas party, and K with her school leaver’s dinner but at least it’s the weekend. Then it’s only 2 full weeks and then Christmas and 2 weeks holiday!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

