The Phone Call

Well, I rang the clinic this morning and pretty much got the response I expected. First off I spoke to the lady that had sent the letter, she said it had come off a database and apologised, but said she’d need to have a look into why it happened and call me back. I said that was fine, and less than 10 minutes later the nursing manager phoned.

She was very nice and extremely apologetic, apparently there was an error in their database (no kidding) and it was a freak error etc etc etc. The usual bureaucratic response really. She did apologize profusely for any grief it caused us and agreed that they are overhauling their processes to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

The unanswered question I have, is how do we know that we’re the only ones affected? How many others got those letters? We were definitely the first to complain, and hopefully the only ones because it truly sucks.

I managed to stay calm while still getting the point across of how pissed off and upset it made us, but almost as soon as I got off the phone I nearly lost it. I was sitting alone in my bosses office and while I *knew* K wasn’t pregnant, I guess there was a part of me that hoped that they’d say ‘no sorry, you are pregnant, the mistake was when we told you you weren’t’.

Stupid really, and I didn’t even realise I was thinking that til after the call.

Tonight, however, we took ourselves out to Mamma Mia which was lots of fun and made everything seem a lot better! Especially when an older lady in the front row stood up and starting dancing along to ‘SOS’, getting a round of applause from those of us who saw her. I seriously thought K was going to jump up too and I’m sure she would’ve if anyone had looked like doing it! lol

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Phone Call

  1. strawberry says:

    As someone who does database work for a living, I can tell you there is no “database” error, only human error (garbage in = garbage out). I hope whoever did that got a good yelling at.

    Mamma Mia is truly a great movie to watch when one is feeling down.

  2. Travelher says:

    Sorry again you had to deal with that–it really sucks.
    I think I’ll go see Mama Mia this weekend! The reviews are stellar but it just sounds FUN!!

  3. Stacey says:

    wow i cant believe that happened! thats disgusting isnt it… i am sorry!
    they should give you a free cycle or something to make up for it!

  4. Pingback: It just takes one.. « Journey Towards Our Baby

Leave a Reply

