Sperm – check! Pineapple – check!

IUI#5 has landed!

And here’s hoping those little spermies are fighting there way in as I type!

It wasn’t the best experience for poor K, it was a different nurse this time completely – this one is possibly the more senior nurse and while we’ve spoken to her on the phone, this was the first meeting in person. It was all going pretty well and she managed to get the catheter in without too many problems. K had mentioned to her that sometimes they have trouble so at that point she got quite proud of herself and told us that she had just sort of rolled it a little and it popped in perfectly. Well I don’t know what happened but the next thing I knew K had jumped a foot in the air and screamed (scared the hell out of me but I’m sure way worse for her). It was pretty painful for K the rest of the time but the specimen did go in without any further hassles.

Later K told me it felt like she had stabbed her with a knife or something – I don’t know if she pushed it in further or what happened but it definitely wasn’t pleasant! K has had quite bad cramps this afternoon and gone to bed early.

I left to go back to work for the rest of the day and left K eating pineapple and scratching an instant kiwi (lottery) ticket which she won $10 on! Yay! (hey $10 is $10 lol).

This time round we’re going for 3 sure fire remedies that have been coming up more and more lately (online and irl) – pineapple, egg mcmuffin and fish oil supplements.

I’ve been staying up late fixing up my cv and writing a cover letter for a transfer that I’m applying for at work (and naturally left to the last minute) and now am going to crawl into my nice warm bed next to my sleeping wife.

Good night everyone

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sperm – check! Pineapple – check!

  1. Joul says:

    Oh my, so sorry that K felt the really bad stabbing pain that sometimes happens with IUI. I really do wonder why sometimes it’s bad and other times it’s horrible… Did the nurse maybe push it in too quickly?

  2. Travelher says:

    Ouch! Well that was no fun, was it? I’d had good ones and bad ones, but never the cramping afterwards. At least she had the lotto ticket!

    I bought a pineapple this morning–a bargain at $3.50USD–and plan on having 1/2 for dinner tonight.

    Welcome to the TWW!

  3. Tui says:

    The pain was a bit weird – it wasn’t when the nurse was putting the catheter or syringe in – she had paused before getting the syringe so I’m pretty sure she must have slipped or something and actually pushed the catheter further in or to the side – it was different to the other times that have hurt.

  4. Stacey says:

    so exciting! i hope this is the one!!! xx

Leave a Reply

