Christmas

Nearly Christmas – yay, can’t wait to finish work tomorrow. Although it sucks to be working Christmas eve, apparently it’s a pretty fun day there with champagne breakfast, drinks etc and we finish at 3 so will be home early anyway. One of my new workmates is very into the cheesy christmas movies and decorations which is funny – even worse than me!

We had our office decorating competition last week, our team came second and we all won a pohutakawa tree which is a pretty wicked present if you ask me. Unfortunately we are only renting, and the section’s probably a bit small anyway, so I’m giving it to my parents for Christmas (not sure where they’ll have room for it either lol)

Also a Christmas tradition there is the chair races; very funny and a very serious business amongst the competitors! They use a block of offices and have two laps, one person sitting in the chair and another pushing, then they swap for the second lap. Traffic cones and lights everywhere and even a trophy with a caster wheel mounted on it for the winners. So different to my last job its ridiculous.. me and one of my workmates who also worked for my last employer have both been saying all week how incredibly different it is there and how stressed we’ve always been this time of year. Thank god that’s changed! Don’t think I remember being this happy and relaxed for a long time.

We’re going up to K’s family for christmas day, staying the night and then back home where my parents are coming to stay on their way back home. My family is going to be in Paihia for Christmas which unfortunately is too far of a drive to go tomorrow night – it will be a sad christmas for them this year due to the very unexpected passing of my aunt a couple of months ago so I feel bad that I won’t be there with/for them but it will be good to have Mum and Dad stay for a couple of nights afterwards and chill out with them.

We had a turkey dinner with them and some of my other rellies on Friday night which actually was pretty cool. We don’t see them a lot, even though they live in the same city, but we both had fun which was good.

New Year’s Eve we will be down in Wellington with the boy (our donor) and his partner. Very very excited about that as we haven’t seen them for over a year and most of our organising has been done via internet/phone so will be nice to spend some time with them before going ahead with everything.

Also, kinda cool that we’re bringing in the new year with them when (hopefully – fingers crossed) this may be the year we have our baby.

At the same time we get to stay with two of our good friends that we also haven’t seen for a long time. Unfortunately I have to go back to work on the 3rd so will be a long trip there and back for only a couple of nights but definitely can’t wait!

My brother was visiting last night, he has a child due in less than a week and he was very excited about that – very cool seeing him like that.

So, a week left in December (and 2007), then it’s January and we will FINALLY be putting our baby plans into action.

Our first insemination will hopefully be mid-late January, it’s been a long time coming and I think we are about as ready as we can get.

I had to tell my boss last week that I will have to leave early on the day of insemination, but had to tell her why as we won’t actually know the day until last minute. She was really cool about it and said to me after ‘you were really nervous telling me that weren’t you’ lol Of course I was nervous, I had only told one person at my new job and being only there for 6 weeks so far really had no idea what to expect.

She did say to me that she always tells her staff that family comes first, and if something comes up or someone is sick then she expects us to just go and not worry about work which is good to know.

She then cracked up laughing and went on to say that this was the first time however that anyone had asked for time off to conceive a baby and normally the answer would be no lmao

So I’m pleased that that’s sorted as well, it means when the time comes we can both leave work early to get to the clinic before it closes without having to worry about explaining or excuses. Lucky we both have very supportive bosses!

About Tui

30-something kiwi-lesbian-stay at home-Mama, raising our toddler son with my wife, two cats and one dog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas

  1. Stacey says:

    We are very excited for you both!!! Hope you had a great Christmas. Best wishes, stacey and megan. x

Leave a Reply

